Legends Hit the Mats at the 2nd Abu Dhabi World Legends Showdown [Vids Included]

The 9th edition of the Abu Dhabi World Professional Jiu-Jitsu Championship host to the second annual Abu Dhabi World Legends showdown took place on April 22, 2017 in the IPIC Arena as part of the Championship, held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.

Five gold belts were wholeheartedly fought for on the mats by 10 Jiu-Jitsu icons, both current and retired, who took part in the glorious and graceful displays of years of experience.

The enormous names from the Jiu-Jitsu world who are worthy of the title category included Wellington “Megaton” Dias and Helio “Soneca” Moreira(Bantamweight), Vitor “Shaolin” Robiero and Keneth Florian (Welterweight), Alexandre “Soca” Freitas and Baret Yoshida (Lightweight), Felipe Pena “Preguiça” and Adam “Megatron” Wardzinski (Heavy weight), Nathiely ‘Nathy’ Karoline Melo de Jesus and Talita “Treta” Nogueira, Jose Junior and Christopher Bowe (Super Heavyweight).

In the highlight match, Wellington ‘Megaton’ Dias (BRA) went against Helio Moreira (BRA). The win went to Moreira who had this to say about his last fight:

“It was a very tough day for me because after 22 years I fought again. I could not have enough time to train, I trained for three weeks for this fight, but the mat is my land,” Moreira said after his fight. I was about to give up but my coach motivated me that I could sweep [Diaz]. I have the best opponent in the world, he’s my idol.This competition in Abu Dhabi is amazing. I don’t want to fight again in my life, but I decided to be retired one more time here.”

In the other famous bouts of the Battle of Legends Vitor Robiero (BRA) who dominated against Keneth Florian (U.S.A) for the win. Another match Brazil verses the U.S was Alexandre Freitas (BRA) who won against Baret Yoshida (U.S.A).


  • Marcio Cruz def Gabriel Napao via points 2-0
  • Amaury Bitetti def Roberto Traven via points 0-0 (2-1 adv)
  • Vitor Ribeiro vs Kenny Florian via submission (clock choke)
  • Alexandre Freitas def Baret Yoshida via points 2-0
  • Helio Moreira def Wellington Dias 2-0

All of the legends lived up to their reputations giving excellent performances to finish up this years championship, giving the audience a positive kick in adrenaline.


+ posts



Latest Articles

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!